“Zach Saginaw consistently grounds his music in a deeply personal, familial context; his grandmother inspired two releases, his producer aliases, Shigeto and Frank Omura, both reference family names and it's not for nothing that his latest release as Shigeto is titled Lineage.

While only Saginaw could speak to the ancestral motivation being referenced on the eight instrumental songs that comprise the mini-LP, Lineage, it's easy to see it as an acknowledgement of debt to musical forebears, reverent respect due to the jazz, hip-hop, funk and folk that animates these eight songs. And while these elements aren't new to Saginaw's work, never has he demonstrated such complete command of his material. Each song is a complex constellation of sounds and ideas, but his compositional focus and restraint grounds songs that are otherwise cosmically inclined.

“"Lineage (Prologue)" eases into being with wind chimes, effects, circular organ and little else, recalling a particularly subdued Sun Ra passage. That segues into "Lineage" proper, which props up the melody with shifty uptempo percussion and bass. "Ann Arbor Part 3 & 4" announces itself with lovely keys and falling rain before hip-hop beats steal the show. “Soaring” eases back into a handclap, acoustic guitar and harp sounds reverie, underpinned with lazy, spacey bass. Shigeto’s brilliant drumming takes center stage on “A Child’s Mind,” moving from a bombastic unaccompanied run into esoteric jazz and finally settling into a shuffling, prismatic hip-hop. Shigeto’s deft cymbal and snare work are also found on “Huron River Drive,” a dubby, smoky, soulful joint that dials back the lysergic digitalia that colors so much of the mini-LP as a whole. The title of “Field Day” perfectly captures the adolescent joy and wonderment of the song, with live drums, ebullient toy box sounds and wide-eyed melodies. The understated “Please Stay,” which adds rare vocal sounds to Shigeto’s repertoire of claps and keys, gently guides listeners out of the journey through Lineage.” - Ghostly International


Photo by Tim Saccenti

Artwork: The front cover includes a photo of Shigeto's great grandfather's house from 1916 in Hiroshima, Japan. The back cover includes a photo of his great grandfather, Shigeto Ohmura, at the Amache Internment Camp in Grenada, Colorado after his family was transferred from Tule Lake Internment Camp. Following the attack on Pearl Harbor and the subsequent declaration of war against Japan many Americans believed that the Japanese-Americans were spies or traitors. Thus, why Shigeto's grandfather and other family members ended up in these camps.




Lineage, released on Ghostly International on January 31, 2012.

Recorded in Greenpoint
Written and produced by Zachary Shigeto Saginaw
Design and layout by Michael Cina
Screenprinted by VG Kids


A1. Lineage (Prologue)
A2. Lineage
A3. Ann Arbor Part 3 & 4
A4. Soaring
B1. A Child’s Mind
B2. Huron River Drive
B3. Field Day*
B4. Please Stay


01. Lineage (Prologue)
02. Lineage
03. Ann Arbor Part 3 & 4
04. Soaring
05. A Child’s Mind
06. Huron River Drive
07. Field Day*
08. Please Stay


GI-148, Streaming, WAV/MP3 download
GI-148, Black vinyl, first pressing, 2012-01-31, limited to 300 units
ARTPL-044, Plancha, Japanese CD, 2013-11-20, includes bonus tracks “Valore” and “Solo Mission”


Red vinyl pressing. Image via Discogs

GI-148, Red vinyl, first pressing, 2012-01-31, limited to 150 units


GI-148X, Lineage (Redux), second pressing, Grey jacket, 2013-04-03, limited to 300 units


Wait, why is this called “Field Day” and not “Field Trip”? – Sorry. Songs sometimes have incorrect titles… Attend any Shigeto show and you’ve probably heard Zach call the song “Field Day.” While working on this website, we realized, “OH, the song title’s only ever been correct in the press release for the Huron River Drive remixes EP” Lol. Sometimes this shit happens. New Order are famous for having multiple songs incorrectly named over the decades.




“Lineage” Teaser
Footage shot and edited by Shai Levy


See also


The 2019 jazz reinterpretations EP, featuring new (versions) of “Huron River Drive” as “River Bank Drive” and “Field Day” as “MCW.”

Huron River Drive Remixes
A remix 12” featuring remixes of “Huron River Drive,” “Field Day” and “Lineage.”

New Light
A lesser-known companion EP to Lineage, available on the Ghostly Music Service

R Life / What U Really Needed
Two tracks (plus an Aaliyah remix) from the lost follow-up to Lineage.